Something I Found.

This YouTube video is a prime example of what our group is trying to create. (click on YouTube video to check it out!) This group in the video did a very nice job mixing up songs, specially Firework by Katy Perry (one song we are using in our mash-up), and Grenade by Bruno Mars. The people in my example also demonstrated the use of microphones, and instruments to mediate their musical engagement. They used a dynamic microphone to record vocals, and other mics to record guitar and piano accompaniment. I also think that just by using the guitar and piano, they are demonstrating the use of instruments to engage in music! As far as this example being some sort of hybrid creation, I have to point out that the classification of something being hybrid can be a matter of opinion. First, I think that because they took two completely different songs; different meanings, tempos, & sounds they demonstrated hybridity. And lastly, they also brought 3 different instruments together to make music, which also demonstrates something hybrid.

One thought on “Something I Found.

Leave a comment