Considering New Types of Music Classes: Kratus 2007

As I read the Kratus article, “Music Education at the Tipping Point”, I found myself feeling nervous for our future music programs. A slight feeling of panic came over me as I thought about the possibility of music classes and programs being cut out of schools! The numbers and declines are scary. This article addressed some of the common issues faced within music programs. Overall, there was a large amount of concern for the number of participators in music education alone, and in more than just one location. However, it suggests in the article that the cause of this unfortunate decline and concern for the future of music education lie in the hands of the schools. Though this may be true for some cases, I don’t think the common denominator lies in funding or testing, because some programs do thrive, just as Kratus suggests. Personally, and for the most part, I agree with Kratus’ suggestions (two factors) of how we have been brought to this tipping point in music education. People, students, even teachers experience music much differently than ever before! Because of how different the world is, and all the new ways of experiencing music, I do believe we need to adjust to this in our music classrooms. Does that mean we get rid of the “old” ways, traditional ways that music programs/general music classes have always been taught? No, not completely, but just as Kratus said, and I couldn’t have said it better: “Music educators, too, can uphold tradition while embracing the future”(Kratus, 46). Furthermore, I think Kratus is right, “school music has drifted too far from out-of-school music, and music education practices have drifted too far from other contemporary education practices” (Kratus, 46).

Although I agree with his points, I will admit that as a future music teacher, I do not know how I will incorporate these changes into my classroom. In other words, I do not yet know how I will utilize “out-of-school”music in a way that is successful and supplemental to my students learning experiences. However, I look forward to learning new techniques and practices within my Teaching Contemporary Musicians course of how to do so. I think a change such as this will intrigue students to sign-up for music classes, and as a result the numbers will slowly but surely increase. Although I do not believe that music programs need to “conform” to the world completely, I do believe that staying up-to-date in some aspect or another will keep students interested, and provide them with more learning opportunities; while still incorporating traditional teaching and music repertoire in order to provide diversity in all things!

Leave a comment